Keep On Truckin’!

Photos and favorite bites from recent food truck visits (July 2010)!

Ahn-Joo Korean Snack Bar

I first tasted Chef Debbie Lee’s “Korean Pub Grub” back in April during her guest-chef stint at BreadBar LA. Not only did I fall in love with her fun take on what I called “post-partying eats”, but I instantly felt like she was an old friend. Debbie’s effervescent personality will have you smiling as you try deciding which bites to try first (hint: the Bacon Wrapped Rice Cylinders!). Make sure you peek inside to say hello to cutie-pie Kelly as well! Yes, Ahn-Joo’s grub is perfect to soak up a few too many cocktails on a Friday night, but it’s also great for a quick afternoon lunch before heading back to the office.

Ahn Joo Chicken Pepper Robata Skewer
Small Grub $3: Chicken Pepper Robata Skewer

Ahn Joo Bacon Rice Cylinders
Small Grub $3: Bacon Wrapped Rice Cylinders w/ Jalapeno Ponzu Sauce

Ahn Joo Chicken Potstickers
Medium Grub $5: Modern Mandu (Korean Potstickers)

Ahn Joo Chicken Drumsticks
Large Grub $7: Korean Fried Chicken, Honey Glaze

Ahn Joo Truck
Ahn-Joo Website

Follow AhnJoo on Twitter

Chef Debbie Lee’s Website

Follow Chef Debbie Lee on Twitter

Enjoyed with my good friend @CharlesGT

Manila Machine

I first met Manila Machine’s Nastassia at Eat My Blog, and when she mentioned her new truck would be hawking SPAM SLIDERS, I just knew I had to go support! Read more about L.A.’s first Filipino food truck on Joshua @FoodGPS Lurie’s blog> “L.A. Bloggers Launch Manila Machine Food Truck”

Manila Machine: Spam Sliders!!!
SPAM Sliders (usually comes topped with a fried egg, but they were out). Didn’t bother me… because I am all about the salty “meat”!

 

Manila Machine: Beef & Sausage Sliders

Sweet calamansi beef, achara slaw, and spicy sriracha mayo on a pan de sal roll. Longganisa Slider: Sweet pork and garlic sausage, caramelized onions, arugula, and mango jam on a pan de sal roll.

I also ordered some Chicken Adobo to take home for Peter, but I forgot to take a picture. Described as “A Filipino classic. Chicken braised in vinegar, soy sauce, garlic, bay, and black pepper. Fragrant and savory. Served over steamed jasmine rice.” (Peter LOVED)

Manila Machine: Lovely Sofia!
My friend Sofia was taking orders that day. She is 10 years old going on 30 (smart-as-awhip!).

Manila Machine Food Truck

 

 

Manila Machine Website

Follow Manila Machine on Twitter

Also enjoyed with my good friend @CharlesGT (same afternoon as Ahn-Joo! Pigged OUT!)

Worldfare Bustaurant

Oh the brilliance of the “Bustaurant”… a double-decker food truck with dining on the top level! I’d seen the Worldfare truck on several occasions, but finally got to enjoy the Bunny Chow delights at Ben Anderson’s Summer Rosé Party. Ben is the West Coast Regional Rep for Rosenthal Wine Merchant, so the afternoon was filled with heaps of beautiful Rosé wines, and even better… a surprise visit from the awesome Worldfare Bustaurant! (Thanks so much Ben!) (Read more about Worldfare here)

Worldfare Bustaurant
Left: “The Original” Bunny – Chicken Curry, Coconut Milk, Chick Peas, Cashews and Cilantro Right: Short Rib Bunny – Worcestershire braised short rib, Horseradish Crème Fraiche

Worldfare Bustaurant
Truffle Mac and Cheese Balls

Worldfare Bustaurant
Inside the Truffle Mac and Cheese Balls

Worldfare Bustaurant
Fries with spicy remoulade

Worldfare Bustaurant
Burrata Salad

Worldfare Bustaurant
The Bustaurant!

Worldfare Website

Follow @Worldfare on Twitter

If you missed it, check out this recent post about Ta Bom (fantastic Brazilian street eats!)
Ta Bom

9 Comments

Filed under Food Trucks

9 responses to “Keep On Truckin’!

  1. I want to dip everything in that spicy remoulade from World Fare! Loved the truffle mac and cheese balls too! And the stellar company, of course. Good food would be meaningless without that! 😉

  2. i’m adding that korean truck to my high priority list for the next time i go to l.a. looks amazing + i like the prices!

  3. Yum. Yum. and more Yum. Can’t wait to try these trucks, especially Manila Machine!

  4. So MUCH fun trying Ahn-Joo and Manila Machine with you! BOTH sooo good. Been craving Debbie’s Bacon Wrapped Rice Cylinders ever since, and loved the Logganisa Slider from Manila Machine. Worldfare next!

  5. This post makes me SO HUNGRY! Wish I was truck-hopping with you in LA right now!

  6. Liz

    Ate from Ahn Joo at LA Flea Market last weekend and thought it was by far the best food truck offering I’ve tasted. Debbie’s food is delicious!!!!

  7. seeing all that delicious grub made me wish I went to the Street Food Fest afterall!

  8. This makes me so hungry!

  9. kruze1661

    I wish Chicago’s food truck scene would pick up the pace. All of this looks so good!

Leave a comment